Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Blurb:

“I can steal anything.” So declares Gen, the hero of the Newbery Honor Book The Thief—an exciting adventure fantasy set in a mythical land rich with intrigue. Gen’s bragging lands him in prison . . . but then the king’s magus needs the thief’s skill for a near-impossible task: to steal a priceless magical jewel from a faraway land. 

Review:

I’ve been hearing good things about this YA book series for ages now. For some reason, I put off reading these until one day, I just wasn’t in the mood for anything and nothing could cure me. And so I saw this while I was browsing through my kindle and decided to try it. And boy was it so good. It was like finding an unexpected hidden treasure.

This is the kind of book that you read, and you read and read, and do not stop reading until you reach the very end. It was that good for me. I had to stay up late just so I could finish the first book, and when I was done with the first, I wanted the second book immediately. And when I was done with the second, I read the third. And then third book was so good that I had to read it again one more time, before going to the fourth book. All this happened in a span of 2.5 days. I kid you not.

The story centers around Gen, a thief who can steal almost anything. He is smart, witty, and with a sense of humor. The story is rich with intrigue. I love how Gen becomes a big part of what happens between the different kingdoms of the fantasy world. I also loved all the politics and strategic maneuvering that went on. I also really liked the little mythical stories within the story.

I would recommend this series to anyone who likes fantasy and character driven stories.

Rating: 5 Stars

Amazon | Goodreads

